I love the smell of burnt cedar in the morning

~~~Update~~~

Decided to change blogs so find this post and all future posts here:

http://longstoryshorthouse.blogspot.com/2013/12/i-love-smell-of-burnt-cedar-in-morning.html

I’m putting an interesting siding on my house. For one it’s tongue and groove and not overlapping like you see on most of the tiny houses. If that wasn’t enough I’m taking a huge blow torch and burning the living bajeezus out of it until it’s a nice toasty black. I feel like a bit of a pyro-maniac but I think the results speak for themselves. It’s called “Shou Sugi Ban” and it’s not that hard to do. Check it out!

Posted in Uncategorized
2 comments on “I love the smell of burnt cedar in the morning
  1. Jack Vermicelli says:

    What’s the benefit of this over a stain? You don’t leave the wood unfinished after burning it, do you?

    • joecoover says:

      You get a different look. I don’t know how to describe it but the texture and the tone are quite different. I am still going to seal it up with some oil but I don’t really “have” to. You could just use the fire.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

